World Cup 2018 England squad confirmed: Lallana axed as Loftus-Cheek makes the cut

England have named their 23-man squad for this summer’s World Cup in Russia.

Gareth Southgate has decided to pick 23 players with five in reserve, rather than a larger training squad.

He's left out Jack Wilshere and Joe Hart from his travelling party, with Fabian Delph and Nick Pope getting the nod instead.

Liverpool star Adam Lallana was expected to make the cut, but he's been left out after an injury-ravaged season for the Reds.

His place goes to Ruben Loftus-Cheek, who has impressed on loan at Crystal Palace from Chelsea this term and was man of the match in England's friendly clash against Germany at Wembley last year.

Lallana is named among the five standby selections for the tournament.

Midfielders Lewis Cook and Jake Livermore are also named as reserves, with Burnley's Tom Heaton the fourth-in-line goalkeeper.

Fellow Clarets star James Tarkowski is the reserve central defender.

England World Cup 2018 squad

Goalkeepers: Pickford, Butland, Pope

Defenders: Stones, Maguire, Walker, Cahill, Jones, Rose, Alexander-Arnold, Young, Trippier

Midfielders: Sterling, Henderson, Loftus-Cheek, Dier, Alli, Lingard, Delph

Forwards: Kane, Vardy, Rashford, Welbeck

Reserve list: Heaton, Tarkowski, Cook, Livemore, Lallana

Related Articles