Germany announce final World Cup squad, with Manuel Neuer, without Leroy Sane



Joachim Löw confirmed his final 23-man squad for the 2018 World Cup. Manuel Neuer travels to Russia as Germany's first-choice goalkeeper while Bernd Leno, Jonathan Tah, Leroy Sané and Nils Petersen are left out.


Barcelona's Marc-André ter Stegen, who had high hopes of being named the reigning champions' first choice keeper, will have to settle for a place on the bench. PSG’s Kevin Trapp gets the nod as third choice goalkeeper, while Bernd Leno will stay at home.


Man City winger Leroy Sané was a surprise omission after an impressive season with the EPL champions, but Löw opted instead for Bayer Leverkusen's Julian Brandt.




Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Marc-André ter Stegen, Kevin Trapp

Defenders: Joshua Kimmich, Mats Hummels, Jerome Boateng, Niklas Süle, Antonio Rüdiger, Jonas Hector, Marvin Plattenhardt, Matthias Ginter


Midfielders: Toni Kroos, Sami Khedira, Ilkay Gündogan, Sebastian Rudy, Julian Draxler, Thomas Müller,
Mesut Özil, Marco Reus, Julian Brandt, Leon Goretzka


Strikers: Timo Werner, Mario Gomez

You also might like

WC Golden Boot preview: Is Timo Werner Germany’s latest goal machine?

Germany most likely to win the World Cup, says UBS number crunches

Related Articles