Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi named in final Nigeria World Cup squad


Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi has been named in Nigeria's 23-man squad for this summer's World Cup.

The 21-year-old scored in the 2-1 friendly defeat by England at Wembley Stadium on Saturday.

Chelsea winger Victor Moses and Leicester trio Wilfred Ndidi,Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahamed Musa have also been included in Gernot Rohr’s squad.

New Brighton signing Leon Balogun makes the cut, while Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel, now plying his trade in China with Tianjin Teda, will captain the Super Eagles in Russia.

Nigeria have been drawn with Argentina, Iceland and Croatia in Group D of the tournament.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United).

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Abdullahi Shehu (both Bursaspor), Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC), Leon Balogun (Brighton), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa).

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas), John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva), Joel Obi (Torino, Italy).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Victor Moses (Chelsea), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone).

You might also like

Messi:’Argentina are not World Cup candidates’

Gylfi Sigurdsson, Aron Gunnarsson named in Iceland squad for 2018 World Cup

Related Articles